yay! actual food!

20120124-185209.jpg

After being being forced to give up everything I hold dear (namely, Oreos and Cheez-Its) I resigned myself to only have bland, terrible, inconvenient foods. Well, I still eat Oreos but they give me a tummy-ache. After I had an unfortunate incident yesterday with pizza, I swore off all gluten. Like my doctor told me to a year ago but I’m not a good listener. I had a funeral for the actual Cheez-Its in my pantry and starting working on something that was tummy-approved. Mind you, these are NOT healthy, but they are gluten-free. I am constantly reminded of this when I try to button my pants. Just because the muffins are gluten-free does not mean I can eat 8 of them. Darn.
But anyway, enjoy a semblance of real, normal people life!

gluten-free cheese-its

1/2 C rice flour
1/4 C almond flour
1/4 C sweet sorghum flour
1 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp salt (+ some for sprinkling on top)
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
4 tbsp cold butter (cut into smaller pieces)
8 oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese (or a couple of handfuls, if you have my expert measuring skills)
2 tbsp cold water

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Combine all ingredients except water in Ninja (aka food processor if you’re not as cool as I am). Pulse until well blended.
3. Add water and pulse until dough starts to come together. Refrigerate for about 15 minutes. (Or longer, depending on if you forget it. Not saying I’ve done that…)
4. Form into a ball and roll out between two pieces of waxed paper until thin, like a pie crust.
5. Slice into 1-inch squares. If you want them to look more like Cheez-Its (duh), poke a hole in the center of each one with a toothpick.
6. Place on cookie sheet, sprinkle with salt and bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes.
7. Cool and eat serve.

Your favorite part: bad photos!

dump everything except water in a food processor

20120124-185224.jpg

pulse until well blended, add water and pulse again

20120124-185231.jpg

refrigerate dough for 15 mins then form into a ball

20120124-185237.jpg

roll out!

20120124-185243.jpg

cut into small squares

20120124-185249.jpg

place on cookie sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes

20120124-185309.jpg

yes! fist-pump!

20120124-185320.jpg

side-note,  I am obsessed with Hawaiian sea salt since it has activated charcoal in it (good for tummies!).  I sprinked a little of that on top before I baked them.  We also have rosemary infused sea-salt, which is delicious on them also!

20120124-185330.jpg

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

