the no-longer-naked wall

20120130-101510.jpg

Since we just moved to a new house, I have made it my quest to decorate it perfectly. Husband has made it his quest to not spend any money. Together, we are DIY experts. Not really, but I’m awesome at pretending. I painted hired painters to do the walls grey and ordered some awesome birch trees from Etsy, but there was a big hole above our bed. I wanted to do something meaningful, but we didn’t have a wedding song and neither of us could remember our wedding vows. But coincidentally, we have a favorite hymn in common. So that’s what we did.

Here is the naked wall before:
20120117-103333.jpg

I started with 9 blank 12″x12″ canvases that I got (on sale) at Michaels.

20120116-130508.jpg

And then printed out the words I wanted to use in the font I wanted.

20120116-130523.jpg

My original idea was to simply trace through the printed lettering and then fill it in with a sharpie. This idea was no bueno and I ended up doing everything free-hand. Pencil first, then black acrylic paint.

20120116-130535.jpg

This turned into a very, very long project….

20120116-130546.jpg

To give it a more finished look, I painted the edges of the canvases with the same grey paint used on the walls. Hanging was a snap, since I used those little picture hanging strips created by the geniuses at 3M. I also don’t own a ruler so totally just eyeballed it. Hopefully no one with OCD comes over to visit…

20120130-101519.jpg

But there you go! The whole project was under $30 and took me longer than it should but my wall is no longer naked.

20120130-101526.jpg

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

