now they think i can do magic

20120118-171636.jpg

My taste buds and my gluten sensitivity are locked in a continuous battle of good and evil (respectively). This time they both win although my brain took quite a beating: “something involving chick peas makes cookies?!” I found this recipe through my friend Julie and have adopted it as my new go-to dessert. The guys came over for football and commented on how awesome it was. I figured ignorance is bliss and they didn’t need to know how I made it. Besides, now they think I can do magic.

magic chocolate chip cookie

2 cans chick peas/garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 Cup quick oats
1/2 cup oat flour (or any oat flour/quick oat combo, just make it equal one cup)
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
3 tbsp oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup pure cane white sugar (again, any ratio of sugar equalling one and a half cups)
1 bag dark chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Crush chickpeas in food processor or Ninja (no, they don’t pay me, although they should) as well as possible then add all other ingredients except chocolate chips. Blend everything VERY well. The better you blend, the better it is.
3. Stir in chocolate chips and pour into a greased pan. The first time, I did a 9-inch cake pan which worked brilliantly but I wanted to mix it up and tried doing it in a muffin tin this time. It was still good, but I recommend the cake pan.
4. Bake at 350° for about 35 minutes. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Best served while still warm and gooey, but it’s good anytime!

photo instructions:(Complete with terrible photos. I really should take a class if I’m going to keep doing this blog thing.)

20120116-141010.jpg
Pour chick peas in food processor and blend well

20120116-141020.jpg
Add everything else and blend well

20120116-141027.jpg
“Go Ninja, Go!”

20120116-141041.jpg
Stir in dark chocolate chips

20120116-141055.jpg
Pour into greased pan and bake at 350° for 30-35 mins. Let cool for 10, then remove from pan and serve.

Don’t tell anyone this recipe. If you do, you won’t be magic anymore.

2 thoughts on “now they think i can do magic

  1. Pingback: week thirty-nine. and a story. and a nursery. | always an adventure

  2. Pingback: strawberry basil tiramisu | cooks in the kitchen challenge | chuck and welly

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

