he’ll even do the dishes

One of my tastebuds’ favorite dishes is Eggplant Parmigiana. The waistband of my jeans, however, groans and judges me harshly each time I even look at the golden fried goodness. So I started my quest to stay within my Weight Watchers points, eat gluten-free, and still make my tastebuds sing. Ladies and Gentlemen, I have hit the recipe jackpot. Even my all-american, meat-eating husband called it “freaking delicious”. Enjoy!

guiltless eggplant parmigiana

  • 1 cup finely crushed cornflakes (use your Ninja. What’s that? You don’t have one? Remedy that immediately)
  • 3 tsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 cup egg beaters
  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 can (29oz) tomato sauce
  • 1/3 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 3 slices provolone cheese (torn up)

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Combine dry ingredients (first 6 on the list) in one bowl and pour egg beaters in another. Remove skin from eggplant and slice no thicker than 1/2-inch.
3. Dip eggplant slices in egg, then in cornflake mixture, making sure to coat completely. Place on non-stick baking sheet.
4. Bake for 10 minutes, flip, and bake for another 10.
5. In a casserole dish, layer baked eggplant slices, 1/3 of tomato sauce, 1/3 of cheese. Repeat twice more.
6. Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.
7. Serve and let your tastebuds dance.

Here are some less-than-excellent photos: (unfortunately, there is no finished product pic. We ate it before I remembered.)

20120106-185644.jpg

Slice that eggplant

20120106-185356.jpg

Dip in egg beaters

20120106-185402.jpg

Cover with crushed corn flakes

20120106-185408.jpg

Place on cookie sheet and bake 10 mins on each side.

20120106-185417.jpg

Layer eggplant…

20120106-185425.jpg

…tomato sauce…

20120106-190159.jpg

…and cheese. Repeat two more times. (I had some left-over cornflake mixture so I threw that on top, too. Why not?) Bake for 10-15 mins and viola! Your husband will love you so much, he’ll even do the dishes.

I love comments. Did you also threaten to burn down your kitchen? Do you know how to get dogs (or ducks) to stop digging holes? Please tell me about it.

